Seamas Carey Music

Things I Will Do

Back to All Events

Riots & Lobsters (ON TOUR)


  • ON TOUR (SEE DATES) (map)

An 8-piece, multi-instrumentalist band led by Jim Carey re-imagining the music, songs and whirling words first created by Nick Darke and Jim Carey for Kneehigh.

Audiences will be enthralled by a unique evening of music first created for plays including Ting Tang Mine, The Bogus, The King of Prussia, and The Riot, toured nationally by Kneehigh in the 1990s. All the music has been re-imagined and arranged by the original composer Jim Carey, and played by his 8-piece multi-instrumentalist band, The Saboteurs. This special Gala
Performance also features the St Kerverne Band and a Community Choir. 

We’ll travel on a musically diverse, story rich journey from America to Cornwall, telling tales of riots and lobsters, fishermen and miners, corrupt officials and power-driven politicians, pioneers, saboteurs, love and redemption, of course not forgetting the classic yarn about the stomach of a horse that lands on someone’s head!

These diverse and poignant songs easily cross stylistic boundaries, sometimes folk songs, sometimes ska or swing. Over the course of one fantastic evening lyrical laments, ballads and brass will all tell the stories and bring to life the worlds created by Darke & Carey.

RIOTS AND LOBSTERS TOUR LISTINGS

Friday 3rd May 2019: Glastonbury Assembly Rooms

Saturday 4th May 2019: Salisbury Arts Centre

Saturday 11th May 2019: St Ives Guildhall

Thursday 16th May 2019: Ustinov, Bath Theatre Royal

Saturday 18th May 2019: Grampound Village Hall 

Friday 24th May, 2019: Corfe Castle

Saturday 25th May 2019: Liskeard Public Hall

Wednesday 29th May 2019: The Acorn, Penzance

Thursday 30th May 2019: St Petroc’s Church : GALA PERFORMANCE

Saturday 1st June: Perranporth Memorial Hall

Friday 7th June 2019: St Just Miner’s Chapel (On Sale Soon)

Sunday 9th June 2019: Launceston Town Hall 

Monday 10th June 2019: AMATA : GALA PERFORMANCE

Wednesday 12th June 2019: St Endellion Church

Earlier Event: April 12
Oarsome Foursome Benefit Gig
Later Event: May 5
Men Are Singing At Cast Cafe